My dvd collection

   

By Katie Nelson

I have always loved romcom movies. Growing up I had a rotation of DVDs I watched… and I still have my favorites on DVD today.

13 Going on 30, The Proposal, 27 Dresses, How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days, A Cinderella Story, and Ever After are a few that come to mind.

I’m sure that all of these romcom movies (and more!) have influenced my books, some more directly than others.

In Just a Wrong Turn, the female main character, Liza Eckland, is an aspiring fashion designer. She’s a little self-focused, but I also wanted her to have the compassion of Elle Woods from Legally Blonde. She doesn’t have a little Chihuahua in her purse from the get-go, but she does encounter a bunch of spunky rescue dogs when she earns herself community service at a local dog rescue.

I can’t get enough of romcom movies, so when I discovered clean romcom books – my world became a little brighter! That’s my goal as a writer too. I want to spread the joy and laughter and love that I first encountered in romcom movies all those years ago.

Happy reading!