My Writing Style

   

My Writing Style by Stacey Bartlett

Rosamunde Pilcher is my favorite author because her writing style is beautiful and poetic and allows me to slip effortlessly out of my real world and into the one she has created. A simple breakfast scene in one of her novels is a feast for the senses where I can smell the orange marmalade spread on the scones and hear the ocean and the seagulls outside the seaside cottage. 

I don’t remember giving much conscious thought to my own writing style, but rather let it evolve on its own over time. I simply wrote from my heart about subjects that mattered deeply to me. Finding my publisher, Monarch Educational Services, helped my literary meanderings coalesce into a clearer picture of what I hope to accomplish with my writing. Monarch’s mission is clean reads and books that matter, and there my debut novel found its home.

In Free Sings the Sea, my debut YA contemporary sweet romance coming in September, seventeen-year-old Shanna is fighting to save her mom and little sister from the abuse of her stepfather and help them escape to the sea and safety. There are deep themes of domestic violence, family, and first love between the pages, with an overarching message of hope. My middle grade novel Monster Mountain coming in February 2025 is a fun, fast paced fantasy, but at its core is a group of children who have all been belittled by their peers and learn through their adventures to value their own individual strengths and to believe in themselves.

I have a heart for the bullied, the underdogs, and those who struggle because I too have struggled. Most of all, I want my readers to have hope, and this is what they can expect to experience in my books. If my writing can do that, if it can help even one person glimpse the tiniest flame in the darkness, then I will have done my job. Happy writing and happy reading!